UALR's D'Andre Williams named first team all-Sun Belt Conference

UALR has another first team all-Sun Belt Conference selection.
Senior point guard D’Andre Williams was selected first team all-Sun Belt on Wednesday after a poll of media members and coaches conducted on Monday. In addition, sophomore forward Will Neighbour was named to the second team.
Williams averaged 13 points, 3.9 rebounds and 4 assists. While Williams’ statistics aren’t overwhelming in any one area, he was clutch at the end of games this season. His driving layup beat Florida Atlantic late. And another driving layup tied the Arkansas State game late.

Neighbour, who separated his shoulder on Dec. 31 and has played in considerable pain throughout Sun Belt play, averaged 10.8 points and 5.3 rebounds. He also shot 42 percent from the three-point line and 82 percent from the free throw line.
Last year, UALR's Solomon Bozeman was named player of the year. In recent years both Shane Edwards and Rashad Jones-Jennings were named first team all-Sun Belt.
We’d stop short of calling it a travesty, but Middle Tennessee’s Kermit Davis was named Coach of the Year. No doubt he was worthy after his team compiled a 14-2 Sun Belt record, East Division championship and No. 1 seed in the Sun Belt Tournament.
But UALR Coach Steve Shields was also worthy. Shields’ Trojans were picked fifth in the preseason West Division poll before finishing 12-4 in the Sun Belt and wining the West Division championship. It’s hard to believe Shields hasn’t won the coach of the year award since his first year as the UALR head coach. He’s been deserving two other times.
Middle Tennessee’s LaRon Dendy beat out North Texas’ Tony Mitchell for player of the year. Honestly, this one could have gone either way. Mitchell has better numbers while Dendy is the best player on the best team. It sort of reminds of the year Western Kentucky’s Courtney Lee and New Orleans’ Bo McCalebb were the top two for the award. Denver’s Chris Udofia was the defensive player of the year. And Mitchell was the freshman of the year.
The first team was:
  • LaRon Dendy, Middle Tennessee
  • Tony Mitchell, North Texas
  • Chris Udofia, Denver
  • Augustine Rubit, South Alabama
  • D’Andre Williams, UALR